Essential Info for Uruguay

Capital city: Montevideo

Neighbouring countries: Argentina and Brazil

Geography: Uruguay is a small country with a warm, temperate climate. The terrain mainly consists of plains and rolling hills with fertile farmland along the South Atlantic coastline.

Political system: Presidential republic

Major religions: Christianity (Catholicism)

Main language: Spanish

Money: The currency of Uruguay is the Uruguayan Peso (UYU). One peso is divided into 100 centésimos.

Time: GMT-3 

Electricity: 220 volts, 50 Hz 

Internet domain: .uy

International dialing code: +598

Emergency contacts: 911

Transport and driving: Cars drive on the right-hand side