Public Holidays in Malaysia




New Year's Day

1 January

1 January

Chinese New Year

16 February

5 February

Labour Day

1 May

1 May

Wesak Day

29 May

19 May

Hari Raya Puasa

15 June

5 June

National Day

31 August

31 August

Hari Raya Haji

22 August

12 August

Agong's Birthday

9 September

9 September

Malaysia Day

16 September

16 September

Awal Muharram

11 September

1 September

Prophet's Birthday

20 November

10 November

Christmas Day

25 December

25 December

Public holidays in Malaysia are observed differently in each individual state. For example, some states observe Good Friday, a Christian holiday, and others will celebrate the birthdays of noteworthy regional historical figures. Expats should check with their provincial government for an official list of public holidays in their area.

*Public holidays in Malaysia that fall on a Sunday are observed the following Monday.