Essential Info for Belgium

Official name: Kingdom of Belgium

Population: About 11 million

Capital city: Brussels (also largest city)

Other major cities: Antwerp, Ghent, Charleroi, Bruge and Liège

Neighbouring countries: France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands

Geography: Belgium is a small Western European country made up of three main geographic regions: the northwest coastal plain, the central plateau and the Ardennes, which is a heavily forested, rocky plateau. The country has a rather flat landscape, with few natural lakes, but consists of many artificial waterways and canals.

Political system: Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy

Main languages: Dutch, French, German, English (tourist centres and business)

Major religions: Catholicism is the most widespread religion, with Atheism, Islam and Protestantism making up a smaller demographic.

Currency: The Euro (EUR) is the official currency and is divided into 100 cents

Time: GMT +1 (+2 from the end of March to the end of October)

Electricity: 230 volts, 50Hz. European-style two-pin plugs with receptacle and male grounding pin are used.

International dialling code: +32

Internet domain: .be

Emergency number: 112

Transport and driving: Cars drive on the right hand side of the road. The country has an excellent public transport system and expats can generally get by without having to own a car.