Essential Info for the Netherlands

Flag of the NetherlandsPopulation: Almost 17 million

Capital city: Amsterdam (also largest city)

Other major cities: Rotterdam, the Hague, Utrecht (which together with Amsterdam form the Randstad)

Political system: Parliamentary constitutional monarchy

Major religions: Mostly secular, Christianity (Catholicism and Protestantism)

Neighbouring countries: The country shares land borders with Belgium and Germany, and maritime borders with the United Kingdom and France.

Geography: Situated on Western Europe's northern coast, the Netherlands constists of very flat terrain. Much of its land has been reclaimed from the sea and sits below sea level, protected by dykes. 

Main languages: Dutch is the official language. English, French and German are also widely spoken and understood. 

Currency: The Euro (EUR), divided into 100 cents.

Local time: GMT +1 (GMT +2 from the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October).

Electricity: 230 Volts, 50Hz. Two-pin round European-style plugs are used.

International dialling code: +31 plus relevant city code.

Emergency numbers: 112

Internet domain: .nl

Transport and driving: Cars in the Netherlands drive on the right side of the road. The country has an extensive transport system and its unlikely expats will need a car.

Login with your Facebook account (Recommended)
, after login or registration your account will be connected.